You need cookies enabled to use this website.
You need cookies enabled

The Equality and Diversity Advisory Panel (EDAP) advises the funding bodies, the REF team and the REF panels on the development of the full range of measures to promote equality and diversity in the REF. The panel will initially advise on measures to increase the representativeness of the expert panels, and on the development of the guidance and criteria that appropriately recognise equality and diversity considerations in all elements of submissions to the next REF.

EDAP is chaired by Professor Dianne Berry OBE and is made up of eight members who have expertise in equality and diversity issues affecting research careers and experience in research leadership and management. They represent a range of institutions from around the UK.

Chair Role

Professor Dianne Berry OBE

Dean of Postgraduate Research Studies, and Professor of Psychology, University of Reading

Members Role

Professor Janet Beer

Vice-Chancellor, University of Liverpool

Professor Yvonne Galligan

Head of School and Director of Gender Initiative, Queen’s University Belfast

Patrick Johnson

Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, University of Manchester

Dr Tessa Parkes

Research Director of the Salvation Army Centre for Addiction Services and Research

Dr Katie Perry

Chief Executive, Daphne Jackson Trust

Ellen Pugh

Policy Programme Manager, Advance HE

Gary Reed

Assistant Director, Membership (Wales), Advance HE

Professor Fiona Ross

Professor in Health Research, Kingston University and St George’s, University of London

Observer Role

Fiona Bates

Policy/Analysis Officer, Scottish Funding Council